Peter Costello

Media Releases

ACCC Appointments



Today I am announcing the appointment of one Commissioner and the re-appointment of four Associate Commissioners to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC).

Mr Ed Willett, of Melbourne, has been appointed as a Commissioner of the ACCC for a five year term from 20 January 2003. Mr Willett has resigned his position as Executive Director of the National Competition Council to take up the ACCC appointment on a full-time basis.

Ms Teresa Handicott of Brisbane, Mr Don Watt of Perth and Mr Warwick Wilkinson AM of Sydney and Mr Andrew Reeves of Hobart have been re-appointed as ACCC associate members. Associate members serve on a part-time basis. Ms Handicott, Mr Watt and Mr  Wilkinson have been re-appointed until 1 September 2005. Mr Reeves has been appointed until 31 December 2004.

The ACCC appointments were made after consultations with the States and Territories and only after majority support for their appointments had been obtained.


Mr Willett has been Executive Director of the NCC in Melbourne since 1995. Mr Willett previously served as an Assistant Commissioner with the Industry Commission, in a public sector career which has included positions in the Department of Industry Science and Technology, the Department of Defence and the New Zealand Ministry of External Relations and Trade.

Ms Handicott of Brisbane, is a partner with the national law firm of Corrs Chambers Westgarth. She is also a member of the Commonwealth's Takeovers Panel and has held associate member appointments to the ACCC since its creation in 1995.

Mr Watt of Perth, is a barrister and company director. Until recently, he chaired the Legal Practice Board of Western Australia. He was initially appointed as an associate member of the ACCC in 1995.

Mr Wilkinson of Sydney, recently chaired a committee of inquiry to report to the Government on the application of Part IV of the Trade Practices Act to rural and regional medical practitioners. He was initially appointed as an associate member of the ACCC in 1995.

Mr Reeves of Hobart, is the Commissioner of the Tasmanian Government Prices Oversight Commission and was nominated by the Tasmanian Government under cross membership arrangements with the States and Territories. His term of appointment has been set to expire simultaneously with his Tasmanian appointment. Associate members undertake tasks as specified by the Chairman. Mr Reeves has previously served on the Commission's Energy Committee with independent regulators from other States and Territories.

Following these appointments, the Commission consists of:

Chairman: Professor Allan Fels AO
Members: Mr Sitesh Bhojani
Mr Ross Jones
Ms Jennifer McNeill
Mr John Martin
Mr Ed Willett
Associate Members: Mr Paul Baxter
Professor David Flint AM
Ms Teresa Handicott
Ms Yasmin King
Mr Lew Owens
Professor Thomas Parry
Mr Andrew Reeves
Mr Alan Tregilgas
Mr Donald Michael Watt
Mr Warwick James Wilkinson AM

30 January 2003

Contact: Niki Savva
03 9650 0244

30 Jan 2003

View more media releases …

Latest News

Paris Diary

Peter Costello Paris Diary

Read more …

PPI - Rising Role of Sovereign Wealth Funds

Peter Costello Rising Role of Sovereign Funds Speech

Read more …

The Hole Truth

Peter Costello in the Daily Telegraph

Read more …


Video Screenshot

Watch videos …