Peter Costello

Media Releases

Appointments to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission



Today I am announcing the appointment of two Commissioners, and the re-appointment of one Commissioner and one Associate Commissioner, to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC).

Dr Stephen King, of Melbourne, and Mr David Smith, of Canberra, have been appointed as Commissioners to the ACCC for five year terms beginning 7 June 2004.

Mr John Martin, of Canberra, has been re appointed as an ACCC Commissioner for a second five year term also beginning 7 June 2004.

Dr John Tamblyn, of Melbourne, has been re appointed as an Associate Member of the ACCC until 31 December 2008, and will continue to serve on a part time basis.

The appointments were made after consultations with the States and Territories and only after majority support for the appointments had been obtained.


Dr King is an accomplished academic, who has been a Professor of Economics at the University of Melbourne since 1998 and a Professor of Management (Economics) at the Melbourne Business School since 2002. He has a PhD from Harvard University and has published widely in leading economic journals.

Mr Smith has been a staff member of the ACCC, and its predecessor organisation, the Trade Practices Commission, for a long period. He has been the Executive General Manager of the Compliance Division within the ACCC since 2000, and has also managed a number of other branches.

Mr Martin has been an ACCC Commissioner since 1999, where he has specialised in small business matters. He was the Executive Director of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry from 1989 to 1999.

Dr Tamblyn is the Chairperson of the Essential Services Commission of Victoria, and was nominated by the Victorian Government under cross membership arrangements with the states and territories. He has been an Associate Member of the ACCC since 1998. His term of appointment has been set to expire simultaneously with his Victorian appointment.

Following these appointments and re appointments, the ACCC consists of:

Chairman: Mr Graeme Samuel AO
Deputy Chair: Ms Louise Sylvan
Members: Dr Stephen King
Mr John Martin
Ms Jennifer McNeill
Mr David Smith
Mr Edward Willett

Associate Members: Ms Teresa Handicott
Ms Yasmin King
Mr Donald Watt
Mr Warwick Wilkinson AM
Mr Paul Baxter
Professor David Flint AM
Mr Lewis Owens
Dr Thomas Parry
Mr Andrew Reeves
Dr John Tamblyn

27 May 2004

Contact: David Alexander
02 6277 7340

27 May 2004

View more media releases …

Latest News

Paris Diary

Peter Costello Paris Diary

Read more …

PPI - Rising Role of Sovereign Wealth Funds

Peter Costello Rising Role of Sovereign Funds Speech

Read more …

The Hole Truth

Peter Costello in the Daily Telegraph

Read more …


Video Screenshot

Watch videos …